Video + Animation + Games Symposium

The Video + Animation + Games Symposium was hosted by UMD’s VizLab in the Kirby Ballroom this past Friday. Students from our campus (and from the Duluth community) mingled with presenters from Minneapolis to share knowledge and enthusiasm for these digital media artforms.

dijital1

Interactive exhibits and “hands on�? demonstrations were featured at the Video+Animation+Games Symposium, including a sound design experiment station, hands-on video production and filming techniques, demos by Apple, Maya and 3D Studio Max trainers, a game lounge, Kirby Game Room demos of Dance Dance Revolution, Halo, Fight Night and demos of student-made games. Noon keynote speaker Lane Raichert is a Minnesota native and creative and production veteran in the TV animation and computer game business.

guitar_grrls.jpg

Who says Grrrls don’t game?!

I gave a presentation about our Dijital Pasaj project, and students from my classes demonstrated their work for interested viewers. Right now we have no department or academic major (that I am aware of at UMD) dedicated to Video + Animation + Games EVENTHOUGH these art forms are so immeshed in our daily culture. Our era won’t be known for its great contribution to stained glass, or bronze sculpture or fresco painting…

So, in the Art + Design Department at UMD, we are opening our eyes and minds to the potential of new creative forms that are so driven by innovations in digital technology and a public hungry for customizable gadgets and entertainment. Although we do not offer a major in game design or a class in animation, we do teach several classes, where we try to integrate concepts from these disciplines into creative projects.

web_dpack.jpg

Dijital Pasaj Website… in process…

coming soon at

http://www.d.umn.edu/~jrock2/dijital_pasaj/

Thanks goes to Lisa Fitzpatrick and her staff and volunteers at UMD’s VizLab for donating their time and energy to hosting the symposium. It was a very congenial event, and well attended for our first really warm Friday this year.

See comments from students below…

5 thoughts on “Video + Animation + Games Symposium

  1. I thought the speaker was really good…. he was really enthusiastic and positive about his job and about giving us an advantage in getting into the business if we wanted to. He was really fun to listen to. I only volunteered for 2 hours and the majority of when I was there was his talk so I don’t have much else to comment on. But it was fun!

    Like

  2. I didn’t really know what to expect of the event but I really enjoyed seeing everything come together. When I was there I mainly helped out at our Dijital Pasaj table. it was really fun to be able to tell people about what we did and see how they responded. It was really neat to be able to talk to some of the reps from different companies. I had a lot of fun!! Thanks to Lisa and everyone who helped to make it happen! 🙂

    Like

  3. I had a great time at the Symposium. Everyone who came by the Dijital Pasaj table was impressed and like our work. The speeches were fun to listen to. I got really excited when I saw my work on the large screen when Joellyn presented! I’m also really glad I went because I met the Mac representative and he sat down and showed a few of us many tricks on the computer to make our work faster and more manageable. It will really help me in the future.

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed watching some of the student films in the screening room. I especially liked the “Pedal to the Midnight Sun” it was very well done and fun to watch. I listened to the two guys from Make at the end and they were pretty interesting, they had a lot of good things to say about life in the industry. Yeah, I don’t want to go into exactly that but it was still good info. I especially thought it was interesting to hear him talk about trying to get jobs and his ideas about that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

