Get Out the Vote

Graphic Design 2 students will begin the semester working on Get Out the Vote posters.
View the AIGA poster project
AIGA invites designers from across the United States to create nonpartisan posters—and YouTube submissions—that inspire the American public to participate in the electoral process and vote for a presidential candidate in the 2008 general election.

Assignment: Focus your efforts on a specific audience and a specific voter issue. Create a compelling graphic that urges your audience to respond by voting in the November election.

Also: don’t forget to read all the essays on Persuasion in the Design Literacy text.

2 thoughts on “Get Out the Vote

  1. Black Power/White Power, by Tomi Ungerer, caught my attention right away. The blunt imagery of a black man eating a white man and vise versa, supported by equal text depicting their power, says a lot now, but not nearly as much as it would have in the 1960’s.
    Ungerer’s life and history seemed quite interesting. His background definitely supported and gave credence to his artwork. I appreciated a quote of his; “I am not really an artist, I am a thinker. I just use my drawings as a tool to make my thoughts accessible.” This is very interesting to me because, though I respect this quote a lot, this is the exact opposite perspective of my own. I consider my self an artist, and I enjoy drawing and illustrating a lot, but I’m really not as much of a thinker. I’ve always favored technical skill to concept. I would be completely happy doing commissioned illustrations for the rest of my life, without having to think of any major ideas or concepts; just rendering images people tell me to.
    Yet this artist gives me a hint of inspiration to go out and use art to make a statement. It makes me realize that if you have some sort of talent, you should use it; and when I say use it, I mean that it should be used to make an impact on this planet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

