Filmmaker/visiting artist Danièle Wilmouth

Filmmaker/video artist Danièle Wilmouth

Tuesday, March 24, 2009, 6pm in Boh 90.

________________________

Danièle Wilmouth is an artist working primarily in experimental and

documentary filmaking. Her undergraduate studies focused on

printmaking, video, installation, photography and performance at

Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh and Tyler School of Art in

Rome. She later earned an MFA n 16mm filmmaking at the School of the

Art Institute of Chicago.

curtain

http://www.hairlessfilms.org/

Post your extra credit comments below:

In 1990 she began a six-year residency in Osaka, Japan, where she

co-founded “Hairless Films,” an independent filmmaking collective. For

more than five years whe studied the Japanese contemporary dance form,

Butoh, with several teachers, including Yoshito Ohno, Maro Akaji

Byakko-sha and her main instructor, Katsura Kan. She performed with his

dance troupe, The Saltimbanques, in Japan for more than three years.

Her films have won awards and screened widely in festivals, galleries

and on television around the world. She is currently a faculty member

in the film and video departments of the School of the Art Institute of

Chicago and Columbia College.

8 thoughts on “Filmmaker/visiting artist Danièle Wilmouth

  1. I thought she was super interesting. I would have loved to pick her brain for awhile.

    My favorite video that she showed was the second one. Between her film skills and the actors it was so quirky! I would have loved to learn what everything meant but it leaves that sense of mystery.

    Her new piece that she is working on seems very interesting. I would love to see how she does her documentary work and how it would compare to these experimental works. It would also be cool to see if her other types of art work compare to her films.

    Im not that knowledgeable in the film sense at all but it was awesome to view something like that. When we were talking in class that we dont view as many low budget, art films in our school as others do, I found that to be so true. After watching her films I thought to myself that it was so messed up and that it took certain people to appreciate those kinds of things. If these types of films were more available to us we might appreciate them more.

    Like

  2. Extra Credit Lecture.

    I went to the film making lecture presented by Danièle Wilmouth. I thought this was very interesting. Her film making was very different than things that I am use to but it was very interesting. I especially liked her video Curtain of Eyes from 1997. It was very interesting with the Japanese Dancing, I forget the correct name for it. I also found it interesting how she worked so closely with the music composer. It turned out wonderfully how they went back and forth changing the editing of the film to fit the music and then again back and forth. I think that video was a great success.

    Posted by: Kayla Nienaber | March 24, 2009 08:07 PM

    Extra credit lecture.

    I went to the lecture today and to be honest I was kinda frightened of the first film. The volume was so loud and the music was very erratic and with that combination it felt like it was intruding in my personal space. However The second film I thought was very interesting. I found it humorous and it seemed almost surreal. I laughed through the whole thing. And the quality of the picture and filming was very good. The first film had hard music to connect with but the second films music was fun. I noticed the music really helped with how I felt overall about the movie.

    Posted by: Sarah Wiesner | March 24, 2009 11:24 PM

    Like

  3. The lecture by Daniele Wilmouth was very different than anything that I would normally go and watch. Her two films were very different from each other. The first I enjoyed at times, but I liked how the humans dancing sometimes looked like objects in movement. But my favorite was the second film we watched it kept me more entertained and held my attention more with the colors, clothing, and the story-taking place. I never really gave much thought about how music worked with film until she started talking about how her films she would have them flowing together instead of apart.

    Like

  4. After attending Daniele Wilmouth’s lecture I felt varying degrees of satisfaction and confusion. Conceptionally I enjoyed “Curtain of Eyes” better, but aesthetically I enjoyed “Heretics Primer…” best. In “Curtain of Eyes” I loved the idea of recording dance and how she mentioned that dance is a wordless form of communication. That’s what I’ve loved about visual art is that for the most part it remains wordless and can therefore surpass any language barriers and can identify with any individual to the extent that they allow. “Heretics Primer…” provided a nice narrative, while being rather odd in content. I, too, love that this film allows the viewer’s mind to create whatever meaning or purpose is would like instead of hitting you over the head with any predisposed agenda. Overall, I think the experience was worthwhile and agree with the previous poster who mentioned that we aren’t exposed to a lot of low-budget filmmaking much at UMD and that it should change.

    Like

  5. I went to Danièle Wilmouth’s lecture and I thought it was very interesting. Of the two videos I watched, I enjoyed the first one more. It had to do with Japanese dance techniques and I really did like it. The video was disturbing, thoughtful and strangely beautiful. I liked the eeriness the three male actors brought across and the woman had some strange movements as well that I enjoyed. I thought it was very interesting how Wilmouth explained a certain technique she used in some of the footage. It had to do with painting many separate pieces of paper, which would take a lot of time and care. I found the other video not as emotional, but still interesting. It had humor, which I liked, and you never knew what to expect. The video had to do with love, but everything was so different, I probably would have never guessed. Overall, I liked Wilmouth’s work. I think a viewer would have to have an open mind to enjoy her work.

    Like

  6. extra credit lecture-

    i did attend the lecture and found it very interesting just as everyone else did. I also felt very uncomfortable pretty much most of the time. The times where i wasn’t feeling uncomfortable, I was laughing because some of the content was so zaney that i couldn’t help but laugh, but at the same time i knew the content was meant to be super serious, at least in the first film. The second film was a little less uncomfortable, yet was still just so strange i didn’t know what to think. I guess i haven’t been exposed to the world of film and so anything with the nature of her two films would have made me uncomfortable. I do think that the films were done very well as far as camera angles and such. Overall, I just thought it was creepy.

    Like

  7. Danièle Wilmouth
    filmmaker lecture
    6pm Tuesday, March 24, 2009,

    The first movie that I watch “Curtain of eyes” was a dancer performance with very dramatic body movements, and facial expressions. I thought that the short clip creates a feeling or a tone that is uncomfortable. To illustrate the music that was played through out the clip was a kind of scary. In addition the male dancers were dancing in a very disturbing or different way. The male dancers body movements were in jerking movements hunched on the ground, and rolling around. Further, the males were only dressed in a thin drawstring thong, an unusual dress ware. A clip in the movie what was unusual illustration for me was when there were a bunch of hands or fingers that were moving around the three men, it reminded me of spiders crawling all over them. Over all the clips was very interesting.

    Like

  8. Daniele Wilmouth

    Filmmaker Lecture

    When I walked into this lecture, I didn’t know what to expect. The first movie, “Curtain of eyes” was bizarre. It was almost unsettling for a while, then quickly almost turn humorous. At some points I didn’t know if I should laugh or be scared. The music and the dancing was so organic and natural. I feel there was also a lot of focus on touch as well, which pushed that uncomfortable feeling.

    The second movie was absolutely hysterical. The two actors did good job in all of the scenes. This movie was much more colorful and alive. Wilmouth did an exceptional job in catching some scenes that brought up question. The music choice in both films played a major role. All in all, what I took away from this was an urge to view more low budget filmmaking. We are exposed to so many Hollywood productions that it is a nice break from that to see what else is going on in the film world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

